Khaite, Fear of God and Theophilio Among CFDA Award Nominees

Jennifer Lopez poses with the Fashion Icon Award and Tom Ford | Source: Getty Images

The annual fundraiser and award ceremony hosted by the Council of Fashion Designers of America will return on Nov. 10 in New York City, when new and established designers from Maisie Wilen to Demna Gvasalia will be up for awards for their work over the past year.

This year’s ceremony marks the return of an in-person version of the event: last year, due to the pandemic, the trade organisation announced the winners online.

While designer winners will be revealed at the ceremony, a number of the evening’s honorees were announced Wednesday and include Patagonia for environmental sustainability and Dapper Dan for lifetime achievement.

Read on for the full list of 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards nominees and recipients.

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Catherine Holstein for Khaite

Christopher John Rogers

Gabriela Hearst

Marc Jacobs

Peter Do

Menswear Designer of the Year

Emily Adams Bode for Bode

Jerry Lorenzo for Fear of God

Mike Amiri for Amiri

Telfar Clemens for Telfar

Thom Browne

Accessories Designer of the Year

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Aurora James for Brother Vellies

Gabriela Hearst

Stuart Vevers for Coach

Telfar Clemens for Telfar

Emerging Designer of the Year

Edvin Thompson for Theophilio

Eli Russell Linnetz for ERL

Jameel Mohammed for KHIRY

Kenneth Nicholson

Maisie Schloss for Maisie Wilen

International Women’s Designer of the Year

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta

Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga

Miuccia Prada and Raf Simons for Prada

Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino

Simon Porte Jacquemus for Jacquemus

International Men’s Designer of the Year

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta

Dries Van Noten

Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner

Rick Owens

Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton


The Founder’s Award: Aurora James, 15 Percent Pledge

The Environmental Sustainability Award: Patagonia

The Media Award: Elle editor-in-chief Nina Garcia

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Dapper Dan.

The Board of Directors’ Tribute: Yeohlee Teng

Learn more:

The CFDA Enters Its Tom Ford Era at 2019 Awards

The American fashion industry’s annual awards ceremony said goodbye to chairwoman Diane von Furstenberg and honoured Jennifer Lopez, Brandon Maxwell, Rick Owens, Eileen Fisher and Carine Roitfeld.

Leave a Reply