Ireland vs Sri Lanka live streaming: T20 World Cup Round 1 match online, TV channel and start time


Former champions Sri Lanka can’t afford a slip-up as they will take on a confident Ireland in a tricky first round group match of the T20 World Cup in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday, with the winning side moving closer to a Super 12 spot.

Both Sri Lanka and Ireland come into the match high on confidence after convincing seven-wicket wins against Namibia and Netherlands respectively in their openers.

T20 World Cup: Full Coverage

Sri Lanka brushed aside Namibia’s challenge with the bowlers rising to the occasion, while Ireland were far superior to the Netherlands as seamer Curtis Campher set them up by sensationally picking up four wickets from four balls.

The team will be expecting more from the opening batters — Kusal Perera and Pathum Nissanka — as well as from the experienced Dinesh Chandimal. Avishka Fernando and Bhanuka Rajapksa showed what they are capable of against Namibia with contrasting knocks.

The spinners, Maheesh Theekshana and Wanindu Hasaranga in particular, proved more than a handful for the spirited Namibia batters and will be key to Sri Lanka’s performance as the tournament goes on.

Ireland, on the other hand, will be wary of the Sri Lankan threat after having made short work of the Dutch, riding on Campher’s heroics.

Campher and his bowling colleagues have a bigger task at hand on Wednesday and need to step up against the Sri Lankan batting line-up which has experience and talent.

When and where will the Ireland vs Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2021 match be played?

The Ireland vs Sri Lanka match will be played from 7:30 pm IST on October 20 in Abu Dhabi.

Where can I watch the Ireland vs Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2021 match live on TV?

Star Sports will provide live television coverage of the Ireland vs Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2021 match.

How can I watch the Ireland vs Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2021 match online?

Hotstar will provide live streaming of Ireland vs Sri Lanka, T20 World Cup 2021 match in India.

What are the squads for the Ireland vs Sri Lanka T20 World Cup match?

Ireland: Andy Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Kevin O’Brien, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker (WK), Josh Little, Andy McBrine, Neil Rock, Ben White, Craig Young.

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya De Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando.

Leave a Reply